Suffolk Horse Society The Charity that cares for the Suffolk Punch Founded 1877
Patron HRH The Princess Royal

Suffolk Judges Panel

The governing Council of the Society reviews the Panel each November. Current Panel Judges are:
Mr Nigel Murfitt
Mr Peter Crockford
Mr Jonathan Purse
Mr Graham Ward
Mr Malcolm Scurrell
Mr Neil Adams
Mr Peter Bundock
Mrs Fiona Clark
Mr Roger Clark
Mr Stephen Gowing
Mr Dennis Hayter
Mr Paul Mills
Mr John Peacock
Miss Susan Wager
Mr Michael Henfrey
Mr Matthew Bundock
Miss Dale Atkinson
Mrs Sue Durrant
Miss Brigit Ensten
Mr John Fleming
Mrs Cheryl Grover
Ms Amy Nicholls
Mr Nigel Oakley
Mr George Paul
Mr Philip Ryder-Davies
Mrs Paula Slater
Mr Bruce Smith
Mr Ernie Smith
Mr Sidney Smith
Mr Peter Tribe

Affiliated Show Secretaries should contact the Suffolk Horse Society for the address of judges.

Individuals seeking to become a Suffolk judge should contact the Society for details.

Foal Watch

To be updated shortly for 2017.

If you have a foal born this year, please send a photograph and a few words on how the foal is doing, to the SHS Office for sharing here.

IMPORTANT - Horse Passports

Attention all Suffolk horse owners.

Is your Equine Passport up to date? UK Equine Passport legislation changed on 1st January 2016.  You MUST tell us IMMEDIATELY if

  • your horse has died and you have not returned the passport
  • if you have bought a horse and not arranged for the passport to be endorsed into your name

Trading standards can fine owners in possession of incorrect passports.  Click here to see the Legal Responsibility of Owners.

Get in touch

Tel: 01394-380643

Latest news



In conjunction with our spring magazine article, we have added a button to take you direct to the Equine Grass Sickness Surveillance reporting page. Please help the monitoring of grass sickness with a view to future prevention. Click on the button.


The dates for this show are Wednesday 28th and Thursday 29th June 2017 this is a correction to the details shown in the spring issue of the Suffolk Horse Society magazine.

Contact details for the show are:

Ms Kim Austin, Equine Co-ordinator

Royal Norfolk Agricultural Association, Norfolk Showground

Telephone: 01603 731963 Email:

 The Royal Welsh Spring Festival on 20th & 21st May, is for the first time holding 2 heavy horse classes; in hand class & ridden heavy horse.

Venue: the Royal Welsh Showground, Llanelwedd, Builth Wells, Powys, LD2 3SY

Contact the show at

 Forms for Turnout Grants now available here!

Turnout Grants

Events Calendar UPDATED for 2017!!

Visit our Events, Calendar page for all events dates & details for 2017. 

Heritage Lottery Fund - New Grant